In the T20I rankings published by the International Cricket Council (ICC), Mohammad Rizwan of Pakistan has surpassed Suryakumar Yadav of India to take the top spot. Rizwan has replaced Babar Azam as the best T20I batter in the world, who was his opening partner and captain.

With 133 runs apiece, Suryakumar and Rohit Sharma are India’s second-highest run scorers in the Asia Cup, trailing only Virat Kohli (154 runs). Suryakumar has a strike rate of 160.24, which is far higher than any of his colleagues, and is among the top 10 run scorers in the tournament. With 135 runs at 166.66 in three games, Afghan Rahmanullah Gurbaz is the only player to have scored at a higher strike rate.

India’s captain Rohit Sharma has climbed four positions to number 13 after scoring 72 against Sri Lanka in their Super Fours match, while the previous captain Virat Kohli has climbed four spots and is currently rated 29th after reaching 60 against Pakistan. Both Arshdeep Singh and Ravichandran Ashwin improved, climbing 28 and 8 ranks, respectively, to positions 62 and 50.

Rizwan followed up his Player of the Encounter effort of 78 off 57 deliveries in an Asia Cup Group A encounter against Hong Kong with a crucial 71 off 51 against India in a Super Fours match in Dubai to go from 796 rating points to a career-best 815 and grab the top place for the first time.

Rizwan is the only Pakistani batsman to occupy the top slot in the T20I batting rankings after Misbah-ul-Haq, who did so for 313 days between 20 April 2008 and 27 February 2009, and Babar, who did so for a total of 1,155 days.

In contrast, Mohammad Nawaz moves up 142 ranks to position 358 as a result of his match-winning 42 off 20 in the same match.

The opening combination for Sri Lanka, Pathum Nissanka, and Kusal Mendis have significantly improved since their half-centuries in Tuesday’s thrilling triumph against India. Mendis has climbed 63 ranks to 41st, while Nissanka has climbed one spot to ninth.

In the bowler’s rankings, off-spinner Maheesh Theekshana has risen five positions to seventh place, while batsmen Dasun Shanaka (up 11 spots to 39th) and Bhanuka Rajapaksa (up 31 spaces to 68th) have also progressed.