The International Cricket Council (ICC) has released the calendar and points structure for the 2021-23 World Test Championship, which will begin in August with India’s five-match away series in England. Points will be granted on a match-by-match basis, rather than series-by-series, as they were in the 2019-21 cycle, with teams’ positions decided by percentage of points won.

In the previous cycle, the ICC was chastised for changing the points system in the middle of the competition, resulting in the cancellation of certain matches owing to Covid-19’s disruption. With the virus danger still present, the ICC decided to update its points system to better reflect the current global scenario.

Teams will be awarded a total of 12 points for each match they win in this cycle, six points for a tie, four points for a draw, and zero points for a loss, according to the ICC structure. The number of points awarded every series will be determined by the number of matches in the series.

Matches in Series and Points:


  • 2 Matches – 24
  • 3 Matches – 36
  • 4 Matches – 48
  • 5 Matches – 60

The exact dates for the matches will be disclosed when they become available. The tournament’s second cycle would have to be completed by March 31, 2023.