In the first One-Day International on Wednesday at Hyderabad’s Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Team India defeated New Zealand by a margin of 12 runs. The Men in Blue scored 349/8 in 50 overs thanks to the opening batsman Shubman Gill’s magnificent double tonne (208 off 149 balls), as well as cameos from the skipper Rohit Sharma (34 off 38 balls), Suryakumar Yadav (31 off 26 balls), and Hardik Pandya (28 off 38 balls). All-rounder Michael Bracewell’s valiant 140 off 78 balls in the visitors’ reply helped them move close to the score, but they were finally bowled out for 337 runs in 49.2 overs.

When all-rounder Pandya entered the batting order, India was in a little bit of trouble at 175/4 after 28.3 overs. Together with Gill, he formed a vital 74-run partnership. A contentious dismissal of Pandya followed off the fourth ball of the 40th over. Following New Zealand’s appeal, bowler Daryl Mitchell delivered an angled-in ball that struck Pandya’s outside edge extremely near the stumps and was declared bowled out by the third umpire. After watching television replays, the umpire determined that the ball had nicked the bails and lit up before being caught by the wicketkeeper. However, it seemed like the wicketkeeper’s gloves, not the ball, were moving the bails. When it was decided that Pandya had been bowled out, cricket fans, analysts, and even Pandya were disappointed at the outcome.

Natasa Stankovic, Pandya’s wife, vented her fury about the contentious nature of his termination through Instagram stories. She said, “was not batted and was not bowled out. So how is it going? “. Her essay was well-liked online. When Player of the Match Gill hit a double tonne at the age of 23 years and 132 days, he broke the record for being the youngest person to ever do so. He also eclipsed Shikhar Dhawan and Virat Kohli’s previous record for the quickest Indian batter to reach 1,000 runs in ODIs.

Rohit Sharma and company will play New Zealand in the second one-day international game on Saturday, January 21, at Raipur’s Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium. Rohit Sharma and company are currently leading the series 1-0.