Shikhar Dhawan became the eighth Indian captain to skipper the team this year as he went out for the toss before the first ODI against the West Indies at the Queen’s Park Oval in Port of Spain, Trinidad. The combined total for all teams in a given year is this. Previously, Sri Lanka had the mysterious record for having the most captains in a calendar year. In 2017, there were seven captains as well. Before Dhawan, India’s leaders this year have included Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Rishabh Pant, and Hardik Pandya. Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Upul Tharanga, Rangana Herath, Lasith Malinga, Chamara Kapugedera, and Thisara Perera served as Sri Lanka’s captains in 2017.

KL Virat Kohli’s back ailment prevented him from playing in the first Test in Johannesburg, therefore Rahul became the first person to captain India in a Test match. After India lost the series 1-2, Kohli returned to command the team in the next two Test matches. He had already resigned as T20I captain and been replaced in ODIs by Rohit Sharma. In the white-ball series against South Africa, Rahul once again had to serve as captain due to Rohit’s injury.

The opener rested for the five-match T20I series against South Africa but returned for the home series against West Indies and Sri Lanka. Rishabh Pant took over as captain for the whole series when Rahul, who was supposed to serve as the designated captain for that home series, was forced to withdraw due to a groin injury on the eve of the series opener.

Hardik Pandya was named captain of India for their upcoming two-match T20I series against Ireland while the other prominent cricketers were busy preparing for the postponed fifth Test match against England. As destiny would have it, Jasprit Bumrah became India’s first fast-bowling captain since Kapil Dev after Rohit was disqualified from the series-deciding Test match after testing positive for Covid-19.