Vidarbha will be led by attacking batsman Faiz Fazal in the next Vijay Hazare Trophy, the national ODI competition, with Akshay Wadkar as his deputy. Vidarbha is in Elite Group A, and their league matches will be held in Mumbai. They’ve banded together with Himachal Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Gujarat, and Jammu and Kashmir to launch a campaign against Himachal Pradesh on December 8.

The VCA selectors have included Ganesh Satish, Atharva Taide, who is currently in the lead, and Siddhesh Wath to the 20-member squad. In-form pacer Darshan Nalkande will spearhead the bowling attack, which also includes youthful quick Yash Thakur, who wreaked havoc in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. On its official Facebook page, the Vidarbha Cricket Association (VCA) confirmed the squad. Akshay Wakhare, a seasoned off-spinner, and Akshay Karnewar, a left-arm orthodox, lead the spin department. After reaching the semi-finals of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy earlier this year, the team, coached by Pritam Gandhe, will be full of confidence.

On Wednesday, Sudip Chatterjee was chosen Bengal captain for the forthcoming Vijay Hazare Trophy, which begins on December 8. Bengal was eliminated in the quarterfinals of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 event earlier this month, losing to Karnataka in Super Over. Bengal is an Elite Group B for domestic one-dayers, alongside defending champion Mumbai, Baroda, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, and Puducherry.