Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, and Dwayne Bravo may have helped propel St Kitts & Nevis Patriots to the 2021 CPL final, but it was the young guns – Dominic Drakes, Joshua Da Silva, Fabian Allen, and Sherfane Rutherford – who got them over the line as the tournament host franchise chased down a target of 160 off the final ball to beat St Lucia Kings by three wickets for their lone victory.

When it mattered most, Drakes showed the brightest, scoring 48 runs off 24 balls, including the winning runs off the final ball.

“I simply tried to maintain my composure, and things went my way. My father, I believe, was more nervous than I was. I’ll be able to go home and tell him I won the game now. He, I feel, has played a significant role. Dwayne Bravo instills confidence in us and encourages us to play freely. It always helps to be clear in the back end, and it’s also crucial to keep your cool. I’m just thrilled for the Patriots of St. Kitts and Nevis, as this is their first (CPL) trophy “Drakes remarked.

The Saint Lucia Kings won the toss and elected to bat, just like they did in the semi-final. Despite losing wickets at critical points of the game, they established a total around Roston Chase’s batting, which stabilised the innings and allowed Rahkeem Cornwall and Keemo Paul to play with attacking purpose, guiding them to 159/7.

The Saint Lucia Kings’ innings began with the Powerplay losses of skipper Andre Fletcher and Mark Deyal. Cornwall resurrected the innings with some big hitting.

The Patriots used spin effectively, with Fabian Allen, Jon-Russ Jaggesar, and Fawad Ahmed combining to take three wickets in the middle overs, putting the Kings in jeopardy. The innings was anchored by Roston Chase, and a late burst from Paul, who struck three consecutive sixes in an over while scoring 39 runs off only 21 balls, propelled the Kings to a competitive total.

Of all the winners that Caribbean Premier League has seen over the years, St Kitts and Nevis Patriots which is also sponsored by Fan2Play, displayed a nerve-wracking and thrilling chase in their final match to seal their first CPL title.

CPL players to look out for in IPL 2021

  • Tim David – Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Faf du Plessis – Chennai Super Kings
  • Chris Gayle – Punjab Kings
  • Evin Lewis – Rajasthan Royals
  • Dwayne Bravo – Chennai Super Kings
  • Fabian Allen – Punjab Kings
  • Sherfane Rutherford – Sunrisers Hyderabad