The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) named its 16-man squad for the forthcoming Twenty20 International series against Pakistan on Wednesday.

After being forced to withdraw from the ODI series against the same side owing to the COVID-19 controversy, Eoin Morgan will return as captain, with other regular players taking their places. Seven players of the main side returned with positive results following the completion of the white-ball series against Sri Lanka, forcing the ECB to construct an entirely new squad before the start of the ODI competition.

Following a handful of match-winning efforts in the ODI series, Saqib Mahmood and Lewis Gregory from the new-look ODI squad has been included in England’s T20I squad. Mahmood was named player of the series for his outstanding bowling performance, which caused a lot of difficulties for Pakistan’s batsmen. On July 16, the three-match T20I series will begin.

After leading the English team in the ODI series, Ben Stokes has been left out of the squad. Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Mooen Ali, and Jos Buttler are among those who return.

Silverwood, England’s head coach said, “The success against Pakistan showcased the exciting depth of talent we have developed in men’s white-ball cricket. We have selected a T20 squad that sees the return of many of our most experienced players after their period of isolation”.

England squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Tom Banton, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Lewis Gregory, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Saqib Mahmood, Dawid Malan, Matt Parkinson, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, David Willey