The Emirates Cricket Board (ECB) stated on Monday that after the Indian Premier League and the T20 World Cup, it will hold its own T20 Championship tournament called Premier League T20 (PL T20) and this will feature six teams and will take place in January and February 2022, according to an official release. Sheikh Nahyan bin Mubarak Al Nahyan, UAE’s Minister of Tolerance and Coexistence, and Chairman of the Emirates Cricket Board, have approved the league.

At least two of the six teams will be owned by parties who also hold IPL franchises. The competition is expected to include the Shahrukh Khan-owned Knight Riders and GMR, the co-owners of Delhi Capitals, and the ECB is in talks with Chennai Super Kings and Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Notably, the ECB has been planning to launch its T20 league for quite some time. In 2018, a competition called “UAE T20x” was introduced, including T20 legends such as Eoin Morgan and Andre Russell. However, with just two of the five franchises sold, the league was unable to proceed as planned.

The new league will be distinguished by having the highest number of foreign players in a side. This distinct feature of the league will draw some of the game’s biggest personalities while simultaneously providing a platform and international exposure for up-and-coming talents.

On Monday, the ECB unveiled a new logo that features the Falcon, the UAE’s national symbol. “We feel we have designed a logo that honours and respects the UAE’s culture while also emphasising our sporting skills. We hope that this logo achieves its goal of uniting, exciting, and instilling pride in the cricket community – both players and fans – all over the world “The Premier League T20 chairman, Khalid Al Zarooni, stated.