The prestigious Duleep Trophy and Irani Cup may resume play in 2017, and the 2017 domestic season will also feature the full Ranji Trophy season. The COVID-19 pandemic led the BCCI to postpone the Ranji Trophy for the first time in 2020, although the Duleep Trophy and the Irani Cup have been abandoned for at least three years. The BCCI’s Ranji Trophy season was shortened last year.

At a BCCI Apex Council meeting on Thursday, Board President Sourav Ganguly stated that a full domestic season will start in 2022–23.

The Board is contemplating whether to begin the senior men’s season with The Duleep Trophy, which is scheduled to start on September 8. Also being explored is hosting the Irani Cup from October 1–5. The Duleep Trophy was formerly a knockout tournament with five zones but later switched to a round-robin format with the top two teams advancing to the championship game. The Rest of India’s squad will compete against the current Ranji Trophy champions in the Irani Cup. The potential for hosting the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, the Vijay Hazare Trophy, and the Ranji Trophy were also highlighted. The Mushtaq Ali Trophy (the T20 format) might start play as early as October 11, while the Vijay Hazare Trophy (the ODI format) is likely to start play on November 12.

The Ranji Trophy might start on December 13 and go into the knockout stages on February 1. According to one of the meeting’s formats, there may be four groups of eight elite teams and one group of six plate teams in the Ranji Trophy. Thus, each team would get to play a minimum of seven games, the same as in previous Group rounds. Due to the Ranji Trophy’s requirement that teams play a minimum of 10 games, the competition is more intense.