Tamil Nadu named a 20-man roster for the Vijay Hazare Trophy cricket competition on Tuesday, including seasoned wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Karthik and all-rounder Washington Sundar. Due to an injury, Karthik was unable to participate in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 tournament, which Tamil Nadu won in New Delhi on Monday, while Washington Sundar has been out of action since the tour of England earlier this year and is currently undergoing rehabilitation at the NCA in Bengaluru.

The preliminary matches for Tamil Nadu, which is in Elite Group ‘B,’ will be held in Thiruvananthapuram. On December 8, it will begin its onslaught against Mumbai. According to a TNCA announcement, the team will be led by all-rounder Vijay Shankar, who captained the side to victory in the Mushtaq Ali Trophy, with opener N Jagadeesan serving as his deputy.

T Natarajan, the pacer who returned in the Mushtaq Ali Trophy after a long injury layoff, was overlooked. Apart from Washington Sundar, the pace attack features Sandeep Warrier, M Mohammed, P Saravana Kumar, and J Kousik, while the spin department features R Sai Kishore, M Ashwin, M Siddharth, and R Sanjay Yadav. B Aparajith, who is currently with the India ‘A’ team in South Africa, will join the team at a later date if he becomes available, according to the statement. His twin brother B Indrajith, who was not on the Mushtaq Ali Trophy squad, has been added to the squad.

Squad: Vijay Shankar (captain), N Jagadeesan (vice-captain), Dinesh Karthik, C Hari Nishaanth, M Shahrukh Khan, R Sai Kishore, M Ashwin, Sandeep Warrier, M S Washington Sundar, M Siddharth, B Sai Sudharsan, V Ganga Sridhar Raju, M Mohammed, J Kousik, P Saravana Kumar, L Suryaprakash, B Indrajith, R Sanjay Yadav, M Kaushik Gandhi, R Silambarasan