Tim David, an all-rounder of Singaporean descent, has been selected for Australia’s Twenty20 World Cup team, which will begin its championship defence in late October.

David made the decision to join Australia’s team after being purchased by the Mumbai Indians for more than a million dollars at this year’s Indian Premier League auction. David, age 26, represented Singapore in 14 T20 matches in 2019 and 2020, batting an average 46.5.

David was born and reared in Perth, but at the age of two, his family returned to Australia.

Before coming home to face the West Indies, England, and India in preparation for the World Cup, which Australia starts against New Zealand at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Oct. 22, the Australian team will go to India for three T20 Internationals in September.

When Australia won its first T20 World Cup last year, the legspinner Mitchell Swepson left for the United Arab Emirates but has since been forgotten about.

According to head of selectors George Bailey, “this is a similar group to that who became the first Australian men’s side to win a T20 World Cup and who are now extremely enthused about playing the event at home.”

Tim (David) has been steadily establishing himself in leagues all across the globe, winning a spot on the team. He is a very skilled ball striker who will give the squad, which has excelled in T20 cricket, more batting depth.

In order to prepare for a hectic summer of cricket, veteran opener David Warner will skip the three T20 matches in India. Young all-arounder Cameron Green will take his place.

The T20 World Cup final is slated to take place at Melbourne Cricket Ground on Nov. 13. Two qualifiers will be decided for Group 1, which will include Afghanistan, Australia, England, and New Zealand. Group 2 will consist of Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, and South Africa as well as two qualifiers.

Prior to the main event, an eight-team qualification competition is being held in Australia. Ireland and Scotland are in a qualifying group together with Namibia, the Netherlands, the United Arab Emirates, and Sri Lanka. The top two teams in each group—West Indies and Zimbabwe—move on to the main event.