Dasun Shanaka is poised to be named as Sri Lanka’s new limited-overs skipper, taking over from Kusal Perera, who had only been in charge since May.

Only a portion of the captaincy change is due to on-field performance. Since Sri Lanka has lost all three of their series under Perera, the board and selectors have removed him as he was regarded to have played a key part in the recent contract dispute between the players and the board.

While Perera is thought to have urged the group to continue their strike, Shanaka appears to have been one of the first to agree to sign Sri Lanka Cricket’s tour contracts for the India series, effectively ending the standoff.

Several players have expressed worries that the circumstances leading up to the signing of the tour contracts, as well as the subsequent intra-group conversations, have resulted in significant dissension within the Sri Lankan team.

If the first-string players did not sign the tour contracts, the board said it would field a second-string squad against India. According to certain players, the group agreed to continue defying the board on Tuesday morning.

If his appointment is confirmed, Shanaka will become Sri Lanka’s sixth captain in less than four years, with Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews, Lasith Malinga, Dimuth Karunaratne and Perera having all held the role since the start of 2018.