After BCCI and Asian Cricket Council (ACC) head Jay Shah tweeted on Tuesday to announce the schedule of the Asia Cup 2022, Twitter went berserk. After being moved from Sri Lanka, the Asia Cup will now begin on August 27 in the United Arab Emirates, with Sri Lanka playing Afghanistan. The real attention will, however, be on India and Pakistan’s match the next day in Dubai. After Pakistan defeated India in a T20 World Cup 2021 group stage encounter, this will be the first time the two teams would face off at the Dubai International Stadium. India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, and a qualifier make up the six teams that have been split into two groups. Group A is made up of India, Pakistan, and the qualifier, while Group B is made up of Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan.

“The fight for Asian dominance will finally start on August 27 with the crucial championship game taking place on September 11. The ICC T20 World Cup will be well-prepared with the help of the 15th Asia Cup, “While issuing the fixture, Shah tweeted.

Fans hurried to social media to express their joy as soon as the tweet went live.

The format of the Asia Cup is always determined by whatever format’s next world tournament is taking place, hence this time it is a T20 competition. The Asia Cup in 2019 will be an ODI competition.

The Indo-Pak matchups are the tournament’s major draw, therefore it is only fitting that the ACC has guaranteed at least two of them. It will last three games if the two teams get to the final.

After the league stage matches, India and Pakistan are anticipated to place in the top two. The teams now get a second chance to compete against one another in the “Super 4’s” stage. The top two teams will then advance to the championship game on September 11 in Dubai.