Following the announcement of the players retained before the mini-auction by all ten Indian Premier League (IPL) clubs on Tuesday evening, Ravindra Jadeja put out a cryptic tweet that made internet users laugh. On December 23, the auction is expected to take place in Kochi. All rumors of a disagreement between the player and Chennai Super Kings (CSK) were dispelled when the all-rounder, who is presently out with an injury, was retained by the team.

Jadeja responded to it well as well. He posted a picture of himself with CSK captain MS Dhoni and said, “Everything is OK,” along with a yellow heart symbol and the hashtag #restart. After Dhoni’s quick 13-ball 28 against Mumbai Indians in the previous season, the photo was captured.

Before the big auction for the IPL 2022, the franchise kept the all-rounder as one of its players. Just before the season began, he was also announced as the team’s new captain. However, a spate of defeats forced Jadeja to resign, and Dhoni, his predecessor, took over.

Jadeja also had a disappointing season, failing to deliver in all categories before being disqualified from the competition due to a fractured rib. In his poor performance, Jadeja managed only 116 runs from 10 innings and just five wickets with the ball. Fans saw Jadeja making uncommon howls on the field while serving as captain, which affected his fielding. Rumors of a conflict between Jadeja and CSK began to spread soon after Jadeja departed from the season. Although the all-rounder was mentioned in several news articles as looking for a new team, neither Jadeja nor CSK ever responded to it.

View of the CSK camp before the auction

CSK released eight players, leaving them with a remaining purse value of $20.45 crore as they enter the auction. Dwayne Bravo, a mainstay of CSK, was the most well-known identity to be revealed.

The following players were kept on by CSK: MS Dhoni, Ambati Rayudu, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Devon Conway, S Senapati, Ravindra Jadeja, Moeen Ali, Mitchell Santner, Dwaine Pretorius, Shivam Dube, R Hangargekar, Deepak Chahar, Mukesh Choudhary, Maheesh Theekshana, Tushar Deshpande, Simarjee

Dwayne Bravo, Robin Uthappa, Adam Milne, Hari Nishaanth, Chris Jordan, Bhagath Varma, KM Asif, and Narayan Jagadeesan are among the players that CSK released.