The Indian Premier League will be extended in the coming season with the addition of two additional teams. Guwahati, Ranchi, Cuttack (all East), Ahmedabad (West), Lucknow (Central Zone), and Dharamsala (North) are among the cities up for sale by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). While shortlisting these cities, the board considered the regional imbalance and business potential.

The auction is expected to take place next month, but the specific date has yet to be determined. The starting price for the new teams has been set at Rs 2000 crore. The BCCI plans to expand the IPL to two new cities in Hindi-speaking regions in order to maintain the league’s pan-India balance. Cricket’s popularity in the region is also one of the key reasons behind this.

The IPL now has more representation from the South area, thanks to the involvement of three teams: Chennai Super Kings, Royal Challengers Bangalore, and Sunrisers Hyderabad. One of the reasons for the BCCI’s decision to exclude a southern city from the franchise sale is because of this. Another reason is that Kochi was a possible city from the south, but due to a pending lawsuit with the now-defunct Kochi Tuskers franchise, BCCI turned its focus to the north and eastern zones.

The North Zone is currently represented by the Delhi Capitals and Punjab Kings. Kolkata Knight Riders and Mumbai Indians, on the other hand, represent the east and west, respectively. The central zone includes Jaipur, the home city of the Rajasthan Royals.