Due to a back ailment, Shreyas Iyer was forced to withdraw from the forthcoming three-match ODI series against New Zealand on Tuesday. As a result, Rajat Patidar was chosen by the newly formed senior selection committee to take his place. Iyer will now go to Bengaluru’s National Cricket Academy for more evaluation.

Due to a back ailment, Team India batsman Shreyas Iyer will not play in the next three-match ODI series against New Zealand. He will go to the National Cricket Academy (NCA) for further guidance and evaluation. Rajat Patidar has been chosen by the All-India Senior Selection Committee to take Shreyas Iyer’s spot, according to a BCCI press statement.

Iyer, who led India in ODI runs scored in 2017 over Suryakumar Yadav, was chosen for the first two games of the just-finished ODI series against Sri Lanka. Iyer had many chances to score against Sri Lanka but was unable to do so, yet he still contributed with good scores of 28, 28, and 38.

Iyer’s replacement, Rajat Patidar, has never played for India but has previously been a member of the limited-overs teams. The right-hander from Madhya Pradesh won’t likely get to make his series debut in the first two games since Iyer’s injury will provide Suryakumar Yadav the opportunity.

Surya is the top-ranked T20I hitter in the world, but in ODIs, he has struggled to maintain his form and supremacy. He also had to suffer the repercussions since he was left out of India’s starting lineup for the first two games against Sri Lanka. He participated in the last game after India, who had already won the series, changed up their lineup by resting all-rounder Hardik Pandya.

The three games against New Zealand will be the ideal chance for Surya to push Iyer for the middle-order berth as he has also been given a Test call-up for the opening two games against Australia next month.

On Wednesday, Hyderabad will host the first One-Day International between India and New Zealand.

Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, KS Bharat, Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj and Umran Malik make up India’s new ODI roster for their match against New Zealand.