Bangabandhu, the governing council of the Bangladesh Premier League has finalized six franchises for the eighth edition of the tournament. BCB has previously claimed that eight Expressions of Interest had been received. The event is planned to feature three new company houses as well as three former franchisees. The new business houses are expected to be Rupa & Marn Group (Dhaka Division), Progoti Group (Sylhet Division), and MindTree Group (Sylhet Division) (Khulna Division).

The rights to those two franchises have been acquired by Fortune Group and Akhtar Group, who previously held Barisal Division and Chattogram Division, respectively, in the previous edition. Meanwhile, Lotus Group’s two-time champions, Comilla Victorians, will make a comeback in the BPL this season. They did not compete in the previous edition.

In addition, BCB decided to only grant the franchises a one-year contract because they are likely to sign a long-term pact following this season. As a result, well-known franchises such as the Dhaka Dynamites (Beximco), Rangpur Riders (Basundhara), and Khulna Titans (Gemcon Group) have decided not to participate in the league this season.

Meanwhile, Chattogram Challengers managing director KM Rifatuzzaman told reporters that just three foreign players will be allowed to play in the starting XI, compared to four in prior years. “Yes, you may say that the board has approved our participation in BPL. We came here to speak with BCB, and they informed us that we would be representing our Chattogram Challengers,” Rifatuzzaman explained.

“In the previous season, four overseas players were allowed to compete, however in this edition, three players will compete for each franchise. The draft’s due date has yet to be determined, but once it is, we will be more organized. You are aware that the PSL players’ draft is taking place today, and once it is concluded, we will have a clear picture of the international players’ availability in the league and will be able to tell you who we will confirm,” he continued.