In what is their final preparation for the T20 World Cup in Australia, Pakistan moved past their home series loss to England last week as they have won consecutive days in the tri-series currently taking place in Christchurch, defeating Bangladesh in their opener and the host New Zealand on Saturday. And whereas Mohammad Rizwan guided Pakistan to victory the previous day against New Zealand, it was skipper Babar Azam. Despite recent batting struggles, Pakistan’s great batsman appeared in top form as he scored an unbeaten 79 to secure a six-wicket victory. Babar also tied the incredible global records held by Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma with the knock.

Three deliveries later, Shan Masood was out for a duck after the bowlers had held New Zealand to 147 for eight. Pakistan had lost Rizwan early for only four runs off 12 deliveries. Pakistan then sent Shadab Khan to the fourth position, where he and Babar combined for a 61-run partnership in an effort to rebuild the innings.

Babar persisted after Shadab was removed for 34 off 22 and hammered 11 boundaries in his unbroken 79 off 53 balls to help Pakistan surpass the goal with ten balls remaining.

Babar attained the record in the same amount of innings as Kohli after scoring his 28th T20I fifty en route to the knock. With 84 innings, both players are at the top of this unusual list. In addition, Babar scored his 12th half-century while chasing, moving him into third place overall in the format. He is currently just behind Australia’s Warner and India skipper Kohli (19) after tying Rohit.

Babar currently shares the second-highest total with Warner with 11 of his 12 fifty-plus runs when pursuing. Only Kohli holds the top spot with 15 of these scores.

“We had a good batting start; Rizwan and I had intended to take advantage of the opening six overs as well as the dew. We have a plan to send him up to charge the bowlers; he played well [on Shadab at 4]. Shadab and I planned that I play all the way, and he will go for his shots,” Babar said after collecting his Player of the Match award.