The Rohit Sharma-led Team India will turn their attention to the next ICC World T20 after being eliminated early from the Asia Cup 2022. The BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India) unveiled the star-studded lineup for the Rohit-led T20 World Cup team on Monday. Former Indian captain Mohammad Azharuddin expressed his astonishment at the exclusion of two standout players from the 2022 ICC World Cup in Australia, which will take place in October-November of this year.

Veteran all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja’s knee injury has forced him out of the T20 World Cup, which is a significant setback to Team India. After missing the Asia Cup, veteran bowler Jasprit Bumrah and expert in death bowling Harshal Patel rejoined the national team for the championship match. Younger Ravi Bishnoi was edged out by seasoned spinner Ravichandran Ashwin, while pacer Avesh Khan was unable to keep his spot for the T20 World Cup.

Former Indian captain Azharuddin commented on India’s selection for the T20 World Cup by saying that he was “surprised” to find Mohammed Shami and Shreyas Iyer’s names absent from the 15-man list released by the top cricket body on Monday. Azhar tweeted that he was “surprised by the exclusion of Shreyas Iyer and Md. Shami from the main team.”

Azhar, the lone Indian captain to captain the Asian heavyweights in three 50-over World Cups, also believed that Iyer ought to have been chosen over all-rounder Deepak Hooda. The former Indian captain said, “Shreyas Iyer in place of Deepak Hooda and Md. Shami instead of Harshal Patel would be my preference.

However, Azharuddin’s tweet was not well received by the audience, who chose to mock the once fashionable right-hander. Shreyas Iyer’s vulnerability to short-pitched deliveries was highlighted by internet users, who also claimed that Australia’s bumpy tracks may expose him.

The standby roster for the prestigious competition, which is slated to take place from October 16 to November 13 in Australia, includes pacer Shami and elite batter Iyer. The teams for India’s forthcoming home T20I series against Australia and South Africa have also been announced by the Indian selectors.