Team India won their first global series in 2022 when they destroyed Bangladesh by 188 runs at Chattogram to grab a 1-0 lead in the two-match series. KL Rahul and company outperformed the hosts in the first innings, scoring an incredible 404 runs. The Indian team then defeated the hosts by 150 runs to take a comfortable 254-run lead.

India chose not to enforce the follow-on and instead walked out to bat in the second innings. Shubman Gill and Cheteshwar Pujara’s centuries helped India reach 258/2 before Day 3’s batting declaration. Bangladesh now needed to complete a daunting 513-run target in the remaining days. The hosts made a brave effort, with debutant Zakir Hasan scoring a tonne of runs in his maiden game. Shakib Al Hasan added 84 as well, but Bangladesh only managed to muster 324. Kuldeep Yadav, who scored 40 runs and claimed a total of 8 wickets, was selected as the game’s MVP.

Meanwhile, South Africa suffered a slim six-wicket defeat in the first of the three Test matches. When Australia batted first, South Africa was skittled for 152, and they closed off their innings for 218 to put an end to the game in two days. Australia kept up its dominance, stuffing the Proteas for 99 runs in their second innings, leaving them with a 34-run target to chase down after some early struggles.

As a consequence of these outcomes, India is currently placed lower than Australia in the ICC World Test Championship standings.

India had a point percentage of 55.77, while South Africa’s dropped from 60 to 54.55. India, which is taking part in the final for the second time straight, will face Australia and South Africa.

Australia, who is currently in the top position on the points list, will advance to the finals if they beat South Africa 3-0 in the current series. They had previously beaten West Indies 2-0.

On the other hand, India will play five more Test matches, beginning on Thursday with the second matchup with Bangladesh. India and Australia will square off at home in a four-match series between February and March of next year after the series.

India will be eligible for the finals with a minimum points percentage of 64.35 if they sweep Bangladesh, win three Test matches, and draw with Australia.