Steve Smith, a driving force for Australia, won his fourth Allan Border Medal on Monday, joining Michael Clarke and Ricky Ponting as the only other players to accomplish the feat. The most prestigious individual award in Australian cricket was won by Smith, who received 171 votes against Travis Head’s 144. Smith has previously won the award in 2015, 2018, and 2021.

During the voting period, former captain Smith scored 1,524 runs, including four hundred, and was a key factor in Australia’s ascent to the top spot in the Test rankings. Smith did not get a single vote in the T20 Internationals, but because of his dominance in the two other forms, it did not matter in the end.

One of Australia’s important players as they begin a four-Test tour of India, where they seek to qualify for the World Test Championship final, will be Smith. The 33-year-old has also been in excellent form in 50-over cricket. In November, after a successful technique adjustment, he memorably declared “I’m back, baby” during an ODI against England.

Marcus Stoinis defeated Josh Hazlewood to win the T20 trophy, while David Warner won the men’s ODI player of the year award.

Usman Khawaja, an opener, won the Shane Warne award for the male Test player of the year after a productive year in which he amassed 1,020 runs at an average of 78.46. After displaying consistency across all three forms, Beth Mooney received her second Belinda Clark Award to be named Australia’s top women’s cricket player.