For the forthcoming Ashes series 2021-22, Australia has named its playing XI for the opening AUS versus ENG Test match in Brisbane. From December 8, the Ashes Test series between Australia and England will begin. Australia’s newly-appointed captain Pat Cummins has announced his playing XI two days before the first Test of the five-match Test series. England captain Joe Root, on the other hand, is yet to name his starting lineup. Captain Pat Cummins has chosen David Warner and Marcus Harris as openers, with Steve Smith and Marnus Labuschagne in the top order, for the Brisbane Test. In the middle order, Travis Head, Cameron Green, and wicketkeeper Alex Carey have been chosen. Fast bowlers Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, and Mitchell Starc have been selected, while spinner Nathan Lyon has been selected. Usman Khawaja, Michael Neser, Jhye Richardson, and Mitchell Swepson were left out of the playing XI for the first Test.

The five-match Ashes series between Australia and England will begin on December 8 at the Gabba in Brisbane, with the second Test taking place at the Oval in Adelaide from December 16 to 20, the third Test in Melbourne from December 26 to 30, the fourth Test in Sydney from January 5 to 9, and the fifth and final Test in Perth from January 14 to 18, 2022.

Joe Root, England’s captain, has stated that he is well aware of how the next Ashes series in Australia will define his leadership. Root, who was captain when England lost 4-0 to Australia in 2017-18, believes England has the proper blend of experience and youth in the squad to challenge Australia in their own backyard. “Of course it will define my captaincy; I’m not foolish enough to believe otherwise,” Root said ahead of the first Test match, which begins on Wednesday in Brisbane. “If you look at how difficult it has been for English captains and teams to win in Australia through the years, it isn’t something that happens very often.”

Squad – Marcus Harris, David Warner, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Cameron Green, Alex Carey (wk), Pat Cummins (c), Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood.