Andhra Pradesh continued their dominance on Thursday, capturing their fourth national blind cricket title in a row and defeated Karnataka by 27 runs at the Arun Jaitley Stadium here in the final. They batted first and scored 231 for the loss of three wickets in their allotted 20 overs. With the bat, Venkateshwara Rao shone, scoring 85 runs in just 36 balls. Karnataka fought valiantly in reply, but could only manage 204 for the loss of three wickets in their allotted 20 overs, falling 27 runs short.

Man of the Match was awarded to Venkateshwara Rao. The principal visitor was Meenakshi Lekhi, the Union minister of state for external affairs, who praised the players’ spirit. “I send my best wishes to all of the teams that are competing. I’m also looking forward to the national women’s blind cricket event next year in Bangalore,” she remarked. Andhra Pradesh had won all five of their league games, while Karnataka had won four of their five league games. The Cricket Association for the Blind in India (CABI) organized the competition in collaboration with the Samarthanam Trust for the Disabled. The Blind Cricket T20 World Cup is currently held by India, which they won in 2018.

“I am amazed at the felicitous co-ordination of the organisers, sponsors, DDCA, British & Australian High Commissions and supporters for their generosity and firm belief in the spirit of our wonderful players,” said Chief Guest Meenakshi Lekhi, while applauding the players’ spirit. I send my warmest wishes to all of the competitors. Without taking sides, I can be quite cautious in my judgement. The Women’s Blind National Tournament, which will be held in Bangalore next year, excites me. Our government has been working extremely hard to achieve gender parity.”