The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) renewed Chetan Sharma’s position as chairman of selectors on Saturday. The Senior Men’s National Selection Committee’s final four members’ identities were also disclosed. The panel will also include Sridharan Sharath, Subroto Banerjee, Salil Ankola, and Chetan Sharma, who has been recommended for the position of the chief selector.

The official Twitter account of the BCCI confirmed the news. “Appointments to the All-India Senior Men Selection Committee are announced by BCCI. Mr. Chetan Sharma has reportedly been suggested for the role of Chairman of the Senior Men’s Selection Committee, according to a tweet from the board.

According to a press release, the Cricket Advisory Committee considered 11 candidates before selecting the five members of the panel.

The All-India Senior Selection Committee members were chosen after a rigorous process carried out by the Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC), which was composed of Mr. Ashok Malhotra, Mr. Jatin Paranjape, and Ms. Sulakshana Naik. The Board received over 600 applications when the advertisement for the five jobs was placed on its official website on November 18, 2022. The CAC chose 11 individuals for in-person interviews after extensive consideration and discussion. According to a board announcement, the committee for the Senior Men’s National Selection Committee has recommended the following individuals based on the interviews.

After the Indian team failed to advance to the T20 World Cup final in 2016, the board had already sacked the selection committee, which was led by Chetan Sharma. Under Chetan’s direction, India missed the Asia Cup final and was knocked out of the T20 World Cup group stages in 2021.

Chetan Sharma, a former bowler, is preparing for a second term as a chief selector with India hosting the ODI World Cup in 2023. India last won the trophy in 2011 and hasn’t added a new global championship to their collection since 2013, when they won the Champions Trophy with MS Dhoni serving as captain.